I’m no detective but Philip Marlowe coudn’t run

Originally I was going to give myself a week off running following the Anchorage marathon. Sort of rest the muscles and joints before ramping up again in preparation for Erie, PA in September. But, ahhhhhhh I felt so good last week I just had to run on Tuesday. Problem was I had hurt my right foot that day – more than I realized.

I had been playing “detective” around the farmhouse because in the middle of the night some weirdo was prowling here and stole my bike. There goes $350, I thought… When I discovered their entry path in the undergrowth on the slope down to the road, I tried it out to see if they had dropped anything else. Lost my footing on some rocks and twisted my ankle.

Later, at mile 3 of a 6 mile run with the other Balanced Athlete crowd, I discovered a rapidly increasing pain around my little toe. next morning it was pretty painful, it was blue/purple, pink and very swollen. Hmmmm, I must have broken something, so here we are a week later and I’ve been off my feet (what a good boy am I). This of course meant that I couldn’t run in the Seafair event in Bellevue on Sunday, so I was chief carpooler, bag watcher, and photographer. A good excuse to goof off and cheer the others along.

The bike? Wouldn’t you know it, but the guy posted it on Craigslist only a couple of days later. After a quick phone call to arrange an appointment, me and Erik drove up to the (nearby) apartment complex where it was obviously my old bike – I got a ood enough test ride that I confirmed the serial number too. “Gotta go to the ATM for some $$$, pal”… Called Kent’s finest on 911… The rest played out like a classic episode of “COPS”… red dots from their tasers and everything :-)

So that was my toe-breaking, non-running, private-eyeing, bike-recovering, post-marathon week that was… Now, where was I? Ahh yes, it’s Tuesday and almost time to head down to the store for another sunny evening run.

~ by John Rankin on Jul 1, 2008.

One Response to “I’m no detective but Philip Marlowe coudn’t run”

  1. I’m not sure the place you are getting your info, however great topic. I must spend some time studying more or working out more. Thanks for excellent info I used to be on the lookout for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

 
