What to do this year

In 2007 I managed to run 4 marathons. Not a lot by some folks’ standards (especially the “marathon maniacs”) but as well as eventually getting all 50 states, I’d like to run them all with a decent time. I think if I can do them “sub-4 hour” I will be happy.

Picking up the calf strain in January was frustrating, but I’m glad I didn’t have a Spring race that would have been impacted, or an airline ticket that would have gone to waste. So lots of slow training to (re)consolidate that aerobic base and a first marathon of the year pushed back to June (Mayor’s Midnight Run in Anchorage).

By June I will have had another opportunity to “tweak” my training with the Metabolic Testing folks from Kirkland. If it shows some good trends by then I think I’ll keep doing it through the summer to help me peak (based more on measurement than feeling) as I head to September’s race in Pennsylvania. The Erie marathon at Presque Isles is billed as a nice flat course with some PRs associated with it. Late enough in the season to give me plenty of time to put the injury behind me and fully prepare. Still shooting for another PR, even though I’ve now crossed into an older age bracket. Hmmmm… maybe BECAUSE I’ve now crossed into an older age bracket.

~ by John Rankin on Mar 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
