Old Shoes, Injury Progress

Been a while since I blogged here. My absence can be blamed partly on “post-Tucson lethargy” and/or new year muscle strain and/or a flu that laid me out for a few weeks (worst in at east 5 years) – and just being busy…

I went through 4 pairs of Asics Kayanos last year, running over 1500 miles and 4 marathons. Now I usually “retire” a pair of shoes at about 300 miles but got all cheap (don’t know why as I had plenty of $$ for new shoes) and since I re-checked all 4 pairs had clocked way over 400. I even ran the Az marathon in one of them. No surprise then that in one of my first runs after the Tucson trip I pulled my right calf muscle probaby in part due to the shoes essentially being worn out. Stupid of me.

Yes, I rested. I did ice it. Took the ibuprofen. Of course I compounded it by hitting the treadmill within a week or so and really blew it out. I really HATED not being able to run for 3 weeks after that! So it has been slow, slow, slow, slow, slow…

Slow and steady has worked out pretty well though. A few of us at The Balanced Athlete submitted to the full metabolic testing from Lakeside Fitness. The whole “breathing mask on the treadmill for 15 minutes” thing. They don’t just figure your VO2Max (55.3 for me) but based on both the results and your individual goals, they develop a tailored training plan to elevate the various indicators over a 6-8 week period.

Sticking as closely to the schedule as possible, I’m running longer distances/times at much reduced speeds/heartrates. With that crappy fu thing right after testing the real start was somewhat delayed. However, now we’re on week 3 and the effects are beginning to feel beneficial. A side benefit is that I am running at a pace which promotes injury recovery. The main plan is to raise the aerobic/anerobic threshold which will allow me to run faster at a given HR and stay in a fat-burning mode.

Re-testing for us all will be at the end of April… wait and see.

~ by John Rankin on Mar 25, 2008.

One Response to “Old Shoes, Injury Progress”

  1. it been awhile since ur last update. welcome back.:)

Leave a Reply

 
