What’s on your running playlist ?

Last October while I drove down to Astoria for the Megler Bridge 10K, NPR’s Weekend America had a segment about music to run to. They also produced a piece where they interviewed and ran with the Ultra marathon guy Dean Karnazes to discover what motivates him on his 100 mile desert sojourns. It got me thinking…

I had never been one for plugging in and tuning out on runs before – mainly because most of my times were spent on the shoulders of local roads. This Fall and Winter I’ve been on trails. I have also become less worried (obsessed ?) about maintaining specific speeds on my runs and more convinced about figuring the overall “Training Effect” of my mileage. Soooooo, I don’t seem to mind the music changing my pace so much.

What do I listen to on the trail or around the local track ? CG, suggested I put together my list of what keeps me going. She gets the credit for a great blog topic, so send your thanks to her. I think I am somewhat eclectic in my tastes. So here goes.

Slower, longer runs lately. Steady and deliberate pace… Here’s what I had on my player’s “go list” last night at Kent Meridian HS track:

  • Bitter Sweet Symphony – The Verve
  • Don’t Stop – Brazilian Girls
  • Slim Shady – Eminem
  • Wake Up – Rage Against the Machine
  • 54-46 Was My Number – Toots and the Maytals
  • Smooth – Santana
  • Let’s get It Started – Black Eyed Peas
  • Wonderwall – Oasis
  • Long Way to Run – Collective Soul (cliched, I know…sorry)
  • Sledgehammer – Peter Gabriel
  • Ride the River – Eric Clapton/JJ Cale
  • Heroes – David Bowie

Here’s a few I like to substitute if I need to pick up the pace a bit:

  • What I Like About You – The Ramones
  • Every Little Thing (She Does) – The Police
  • Monkey Man – Toots and the Maytals
  • Little Green Bag – George Baker Selection

OK out there… Zappoman, Regivizz, NoelRyan, Rahim… and anyone else out there. What’s on your list ? I’m always looking for new suggestions :-)

~ by John Rankin on Feb 6, 2007.

10 Responses to “What’s on your running playlist ?”

  1. John, I’m impressed with your list… Sounds like you and I have some similar tastes and then maybe we could mix some new stuff in for each other.

    My play list has definitely got the following:

    * Rage Against the Machine (they are great to run to, so much energy)
    * The Ramones (again, real good toe tapping/feet hitting the ground kinda stuff).

    Although I don’t have any of the rest of these artists on my standard play lists, like you, I like to mix it up with lots of different genres. I usually leave my ipod on shuffle and there are about 5,000 songs on mine, so it’s always random… but here are some other Artists that show up on my typical runs and rides…

    Johnny Cash, The White Stripes, Pink Floyd, Nirvana, Helmet, The Melvins, Jay-Z, Beastie Boys, Frank Sinatra, Lit, Kid Rock, System of a Down, Tad, Jimi Hendrix, Mudhoney, The Clash, AC/DC, Bad Brains, Cake, Beck, Fugazi… Oh my goodness… I could go on and on and on…

    I guess I know what I have to right about now. See my blog for more.

  2. […] 6th, 2007 John Rankin had a great post about what he listens to while he runs…  and it got me […]

  3. […] John Rankin had a great post about what he listens to while he runs…  and it got me thinking. […]

  4. […] on your running playlist ? John Rankin asked on his blog “What’s on your running playlist ?” There have been some great responses from various people on what they listen to whilst running and […]

  5. I too have a fairly random assortment on my mp3 player. The ones that really get me going include Eminem’s Lose Yourself, Athena Cage “All or Nothing”, Gia Farrell “Hit me Up” plus anything by Linkin Park or All American Rejects. This may be kinda cheesy and only appropriate for a University of Oklahoma fan, but I have the after game talk that Bob Stoops gave after winning the National Title in 2000 combined with rap music. Great Balls of Fire is stuck in there somewhere (always makes me smile) along with Hayes Carll’s Highway 87.

  6. Interesting that you have that post-game talk, Regina… A while ago when I did a post here about treadmill running, some one suggested (talk show) podcasts if I didn’t want to worry about belt pace Vs music beat.

    There’s a few KUOW broadcasts I love to hear but lately I’ve been missing them (work has a habit of intruding like that). I grab a podcast later that day and catch up with the news and debate on the trail or the track.

  7. I like your playlist. I like Eminem, The Blackeyed Peas, & Santana too. I also love Evanesence. I burned a CD from my neice a couple of years ago. I play it when I really need movitvation if I am struggling through a treadmill work out.

  8. One other track that I do have on my iPod – Gonna Fly Now (Theme From Rocky) by Bill Conti. This has got to be THE best track to finish a fast run with. I know the Nike+iPod gadget has a Power Song button on it, so you could just hit it as you start that last hill climb!!!

  9. Gah. I hate when life interferes with my blogging! I think I have Dave Fravel’s “illness” but here I am now, giving you my $0.02.

    Oh, you know what? If you use iTunes, then check out my Running Songs iMix. Most of my songs are by Barenaked Ladies but the one that really really hype me everytime I hear it on my iPod is “I Run For Life” by Melissa Ethridge.

  10. Even though I don’t have an iPod, I do have iTunes on this laptop so I am going to check out that “running song mix”. I have a sandisk mp3 player and with a few extra steps I can still get iTunes stuff on there to run with :-) Legally too, BTW…

    Cinnamon Girl is upping her running mileage and after reading all of our playlist ideas, was interested in having music to keep her going the extra distance. I was thinking of getting her an iPod (nano or shuffle, which is the bigger one ? I can never remember)… but a little bird said there was already one in the pipeline so to speak. I bought Police concert tix for us instead…

Leave a Reply

 
