What are you doing on April 14, 2008 ?

fireworks.jpgToo far away to decide ?

Well, I think that is the date for Patriots’ Day and the 112th Boston Marathon… and I’m going ! Yippee ! As I rode back to Houston airport in the shuttle last Sunday, one of the other runners pointed out that my Louisville time from last October is good for 2008, when I’ll be in the next age bracket.

Just like Woodward and Berstein I went to the source and checked the facts. Sure enough, the qualifying times are based on your age range on the day of the Boston race and not the date of the qualifying race. See, there are some benefits to growing a year older :-)

Oooooooohhhhhh…. I’m happy :-)

~ by John Rankin on Jan 17, 2007.

4 Responses to “What are you doing on April 14, 2008 ?”

  1. Congrats John! Have you run Boston already?

    I am definitely looking forward to someday running this race. I hope I can qualify this year. But that means running a 3:15, as in April of 2008 I will be 38. Hopefully I will qualify this year, and you and I can toe the line together.

  2. Congratulations!

  3. Congrats. Nova Scotia will be rooting for you.

  4. By 2008, I’ll be making millions and millions in cash and probably have to spend that day trying to figure out my taxes. I’ll make sure that I put some donations to all my wordpress runner friends to get some tax break.

    Congratulations John. I don’t think I’ll be joining you on this one cause I don’t think I can run faster than 3:40 to unless I have a sex change operation.

Leave a Reply

 
