I want to be a maniac too

mm_shirt.jpgThe other day I was visiting the blog of another runner in Denver (Rahim Rahman) where he had written about his 2 marathons in subsequent weekends. I made a comment about the Seattle based organization called “Marathon Maniacs“. There you can get memberships according to just how crazy you get running those dreaded 26.2s and I suggested he go check it out. Hmmmm… perhaps that should be how maniacal.

Rahim joined at the Bronze level and now I want that t-shirt now also. I see an opportunity in the spring when I was planning to run the New Jersey marathon at Long Branch – 29 April 07. If I fly down a day earlier than planned, I can take in a race in Newark Delaware on the Saturday then sccot up to the coast and rest before punishing myself at Long Branch. One of the races will be an OK time and the other will be a poor time, but it would allow me to get 2 states onto my list for the price of one airline ticket back east… I’ll also get to be a “Gold” member and sport that t-shirt to make people shake their heads (not in wonder but in sympathy).

~ by John Rankin on Dec 1, 2006.

One Response to “I want to be a maniac too”

  1. Actually, John, 2 marathons in 2 days is the “Iridium” level (4-star) instead of “Gold” (3-star).

    Iridium Level:
    1. 4 Marathons in 4 consecutive weeks (or 23 days).
    2. 19 – 25 Marathons within 1 calendar year.
    3. 2 Marathons in 2 days (or 48 hours) must finish both races!
    4. 9 Marathons in 9 different US states, Countries, or Canadian Provinces (any combination) in 1 calendar year.

Leave a Reply

 
