My 5th Turkey Trot 5K

The full Norpoint Turkey Trot results  can be found at the website of the folks who ran the timing chip system –  www.perfecttimeevents.com  – However, my story is…

The Norpoint “Turkey Trot” has become a mustn’t miss run for me, and despite the heavy rain and high winds I made it around the loop for the 5th time. It was the first event I had ever entered back in 2002, and I think I was half dead when I wheeed across the finish line (27:17 as I recall). It set me on a path that I have become happier with ever since.

Today it was wet as I drove over to Tacoma. It got wetter as I checked in and picked up the number and chip. It became truly stormy just as everyone was shuffling out to the start. I mean horizontal, heavy rain !!! What the heck – I hung back under shelter until everyone had passed through the gate. After all, the timing is by chip so it doesn’t matter if you start way after the gun.

It was a hard run in the rain with the wind buffeting us especially when we turned onto Brown’s Point Blvd and the weather came off Commencement Bay. I made good time and waorked hard to maintain a steady pace even as I steadily climbed the last mile – all the way up Nassau Drive. Sprinted in alongside a kid (who obviously did NOT want me beating him) and on checking my watch at the finish it read 22:12 – about 30 seconds slower than the summer 5K but still OK for an old guy :-)

Once again, the full Norpoint Turkey Trot results  can be found at the website of the folks who ran the timing chip system –  http://www.perfecttimeevents.com

~ by John Rankin on Nov 23, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
