Week 14 marathon training

sombreroIt has been over a week since I last posted here. Busy, busy, busy… time flies when you’re enjoying yourself. Fiesta de Albuquerque is so close now :-)

Last week I put in 34 miles compared to a target of 37. With my daughter spending the weekend at the farm, my Saturday 18 miler was rescheduled to Friday. Then I ended up cutting it short to 11 so I would be able to pick her up from her mom. I have been making sure all the runs in the final weeks are now being done with the heart rate monitor. I have set a lower limit of 130 bpm and upper limit of 160 bpm. I am holding steady at about 152 lbs and staying in-zone will keep my body used to running at race pace as well as helping to burn fat as I reduce miles run but maintain the right calorie intake.

Now that week 14 is in the books I am entering the “taper” period where the miles drop off and I get to conserve some energy. Re-energize before the actual race. This week (number 15) will be 29 mile week and the final one even shorter at only 14. The race will be on Saturday April 22nd at 7am (Mountain Time).

~ by John Rankin on Apr 10, 2006.

One Response to “Week 14 marathon training”

  1. Keep up the good work, John, not that I really fully understand the preparation that goes into running for marathons. However, I will be keeping an eye on your progress :)

Leave a Reply

 
