The 16-mile run on Sunday

…was extremely good. This was a 16 mile long run. I had rested the day before, and had a good night’s sleep. I stuck with Ultima for the run (taking 20 oz with me and water before) and a Gu gel pack about every 4 miles. The journey out to Highway 18 is 6.1 miles of quiet, straight roads with a few big hils thrown in for variety. A very quick stop on the freeway bridge then off again to the farm. By the time I hit 12 miles I realized I was feeling great and still running strongly. I was able to concentrate on maintaining a steady, controlled stride, nothing hurt and no sign of any stomach problems. It took me just over 2 hours to do 16.5 miles so I was happy with the pace. Normally the long training runs would be at about 9 min/mile pace, but I have stepped it up in an attempt to stretch out a bit for hi-alt in Albuquerque. Seven weeks to go until the next race… the next few weekends will see me move up once more to 18, 20 and 22 mile runs.

~ by John Rankin on Mar 7, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
