Time to get back to running

Now it’s been a month or so since my father’s passing. I have had to cope with that and the small matter of my separation (found out when I returned from the funeral). lastly, my doctor advised me to take it easy following my recent minor op – some men refer to it as “the unkindest cut of all…” :-) Anyway, as I said before, it has resulted in a scaling back of my usual mileage but strangely that has confirmed what I read in various places that you improve more in those resting periods than the actual running periods.

I am feeling rested, invigorated and ready to run. Next target in my 50-state mission is New Mexico. The challenge in that one I suspect will be its altitude – about 5000 feet. Now I need to find out if there’s any way to train for that stress here at sea level in WA. Anyone who reads this and has suggestions… feel free to send them to me at johnrankin@pagenix.com

Oh and before I forget… I found another source of Brooks Adrenaline GTS5s… me and my feet are happy.

~ by John Rankin on Feb 6, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
