Last race before 26.2

This morning was the last major event before the marathon on Nov 6 – The Columbus Day 1/2 marathon at Olympia. Weather perfect. Cool breeze, overcast. Starts and ends in Millersylvania State Park and is a nice out n back rolling hills course. Hit by a rain squall at about 2 miles, it cooled down & refreshed me.

Made great time for the first 5 miles, then for 3 more I paced another runner and relaxed with conversation for 15 mins… After we grabbed Gatorade at 8 miles… I kicked up a gear and was gone :-)

For the next 4 miles I worked to catch the #3 runner – hispanic lady ultramarathoner. I got real close, but in the last 1/2 mile, her acceleration matched mine and she finished 30 seconds in front. Finished strong at 1:40:55 and as long as I can stay healthy, think I’m ready for Boise.
—–

~ by John Rankin on Oct 9, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
