Not Astoria

Astoria-Megler BridgeI was scheduled to do the Great Columbia Crossing 10K today in Astoria OR. Lots of things conspired against me to travel down there and in the end it didn’t seem worth the drive and $$… next year for sure. It’s a cool race starting in WA & running across the 4.1 mile Astoria-Megler bridge to finish downtown, I was sorry to miss it.

Instead, I continued with the plan for Boise. A 3 hour out-n-back to Pacific Ave in Tacoma winding along highway 509 – across the tide flats, round the port, over the Puyallup river (just over 21 miles). The first 3 miles are all downhill to Commencement Bay, then it’s mostly flat and fast. Sadly that means the last 3 miles are… umm…. uphill. Still I managed to run all the way up without stopping or going out of my heartrate zone. I wonder if that means I am getting fitter :-)

~ by John Rankin on Oct 2, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
