Lost in the woods

So I used to see those news stories about how people would go for a walk into the woods and get lost in 5 minutes… and get found days later. I would shake my head and wonder what kind of people they were.

Well, I guess I am one of them. I went to the fitness center as usual on Sat AM, and was persuaded by an old gent called Dale to go for a run in the Dashpoint Park trails… sounded like fun. Well, it wasn’t too long before our fearless leader was scatching his head and saying “This doesn’t look familiar any more…”

OMG…. I know it’s only a well used state park, but I suddenly had visions of an overnighter in the cold damp forest. Luckily, we made it out (well, here I am writing about it). Note to self… put a GPS on the birthday/christmas list…
—–

~ by John Rankin on Sep 17, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
